Easier editing of TypoScript

UPDATE: August 2008

I’ve moved my blog to http://www.elaptics.co.uk and the TYPO3 bundle is now in the Macromates Subversion repository.  You can find more information here http://www.elaptics.co.uk/projects/

I’ve recently discovered TextMate from www.macromates.com – a superb text editor, previously I’ve been using TextWrangler but I’m slowly using TextMate more and more, one of it’s really great features is it’s expandability through the use of bundles.

In getting to grips with the bundle editor I decided to put together a bundle for editing TypoScript so that it has syntax highlighting plus I’ve added some of the more common TypoScript objects as snippets to make it much quicker to put your typoscript together. I’ve put a link to the TSRef doc online as well as ensuring the comment toggle puts the right comment symbol in.

Not sure how it measures up as a first attempt but drop me a line if you find it useful or would like to see some other things added to it, likewise if you add any more features why not send them to me so I can include them here. If enough people are finding it useful then we can also consider getting the bundle added to the main repository at macromates.

You can download the bundle here.

I’ve added the following scope selectors to the language grammars which you’ll almost certainly want to add to your theme to have the syntax highlighted. (Whether these are the best scopes to use I don’t know but feel free to suggest others).

entity.other.tsobject
entity.other.tsconstant
entity.other.tsvalue
entity.other.tscopy

Technorati Tags: ,

16 Responses to “Easier editing of TypoScript”

  1. Frederic Robert Says:

    Thank you very much for this textmate bundle. It works like a charm and will certainly be very useful for my future Typo3 projects.

  2. atnexxt » Blog Archive » TypoScript komfortabel extern editieren Says:

    […] Und auch Mac Nutzern wird ähnliches durch ein entsprechendes Bundle für den phantastischen Universaleditor TextMate zur Verfügung gestellt. […]

  3. Olivier Dobberkau Says:

    Thanks a Lot!

  4. KeilBlock » Blog Archiv » TypoScript aus einer Textdatei inkludieren Says:

    […] Addon für TextMate […]

  5. Peter Foerger Says:

    Cool one. Great to have. Thx.

  6. Open Mind » Blog-Archiv » Syntax Highlighting für TypoScript Says:

    […] für TextMate […]

  7. Ingo Says:

    Thanks a lot!
    Please put it on the macromates repository, so that updating it is easier…

  8. Lars Says:

    There’s also a possibility to use the PSPad. My favorite editor for TS! With the not official, but very useful Firefox extension mozex it’s very simple to write highlighted TS and bring it back directly and changed to the T3-backend.

  9. Sudara Says:

    Hello!

    Great work!

    I took a look at this, and used parts of it in a new bundle that has a bit more syntax highlighting.

    Check it out at http://blog.web-crossing.com and let me know what you think!

    sudara

  10. Reiten, Schwimmen, Lesen » Blog Archive » Mac / Typo3 / Subversion Says:

    […] auch selbstverständlich für den “über”-Mac Editor Textmate (das natürlich von Haus aus bereits SVN unterstützt)….oder für die Windows […]

  11. bernd pier Says:

    hi,
    thx for the bundle. i install it, but i didn`t see any highlighting. did i miss something?
    cu
    bernd

  12. elaptics Says:

    Hi Bernd,

    The bundle linked here is fairly old. There’s a much more fully featured and up to date version in the Textmate repository under the Review subfolder. If you’re using this bundle the most likely reason you’re not seeing any highlighting is if your theme doesn’t have anything set for the entity.other.* scope selectors. Contact me at andy at elaptics.co.uk and I’ll email you the latest version and a theme that I use which has pretty reasonable syntax highlighting

  13. Markus Giesen (The RedDot CMS Giesen) Says:

    splendid!

  14. Markus Giesen (The RedDot CMS Giesen) Says:

    but the link seems to be broken.. 😦

  15. Peta Pöcka Says:

    Ich bemerke jetzt in diesem Moment dass ich diese Seite deutlich mehr besuchen sollte 🙂 – da kommt der Leser wirklich auf super Ideen

  16. interracial dating Says:

    interracial dating Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I actually liked reading it, you will be a great author.I will be sure to save your weblog and definitely will come back from now on. I want to encourage you continue your great writing, have a nice evening! ! !

Leave a comment